Unplugged: A Day Without Social Media

So I will admit, I am one of those obnoxious people who is constantly checking their phone. To be honest, it is the first thing I check In the morning and last thing i check at night, fearful that I will miss something major. With so many different faucets of social media we often can get so busy in documenting life that we forget to enjoy it in the process. While it helps us stay connected to the world Social media has made it easy for us to be lazy. For example when is the last time you called to wish someone happy birthday instead or get actual photos printed instead of uploading them for the masses? Although I am aware of these things, I have grown accustom to my ways. In this day and age it is nearly impossible to avoid social media all together unless your living under a rock so I decided to put myself to the test, 24 hour with no social media of any kind. It was no easy task but I was determined to do it and prove to myself I wasn’t as addicted as everyone thought I was.

My experience started off by shutting of all social media notifications on my phone from tumblr to Facebook to twitter. As I shut them down I thanked God that there were not so many different types of social media distractions when I was in school, honestly don’t know how I would have made it. Throughout the day I realized just how much time I actually have without those distractions, despite sleeping in I was able to make it to work on time. Score! Despite this fact I dreaded what lay ahead, 8 hours in front of a computer at work with no social media distractions not to mention after work .But I made it and had a great, productive day.

So total count of what i missed in a day?

9 FB notifications
4 Instagram notifications
14 tagged tweets
A few things on tumblr

The experience overall was eye opening one.Sure social media is a great was for us to document the things we do but we don’t take into account the time we can waste as we do it. I full intend to learn from it to learn from it and focus on living life instead of reading about it or documenting it.

Live life to the very fullest, Facebook not required!

Leave a Reply

